Artist Corner: Overcoming an Art Block

Occasionally, we all suffer from an severe drought, called an art block. Noticed that these 5 thoughts kill creativity

1)I am not talented enough

2) I am not as good as I want to be

3)I am not as good as other people expect me to be.

4) There is no point in creating art because there are so many other people out there creating art better than mine.

5) I’ll probably never be good enough to become a professional anyway, so why bother?

If you find yourself thinking any of these, you’ll have to find a way to change your attitude. Dealing with an art block can be devastating, but it doesn’t have to be. Artist who do not do work for years are following results of negative criticism, devastating life experience, and/or boredom with the current activity. All internal issues. Its happened to me many times, but now I can work on art every day, no real problem. To adapt to boredom, I change my craft depending on the mood, (Ex: Some days I draw-face paint-decorate jewelry-canvas paint-learn to airbrush-sew-cake decorate-write poetry, stories, cards, etc). Or force myself to schedule parties, events, and workshops cause that seems a motivation and urgency to get the job done. Those many things are confidence builders, cause there’s no defining my limitations. All involve that creative spirit. Criticism comes with every talent, and not doing some things better than others, goes back to having faith that not right now I can do those things, but the day is coming soon when I can. So I practice, & visiting other art galleries is inspiring, reading different style of art books, & talking to other artists is therapeutic cause they face the same challenges. Dealing with an art block can be devastating, but it doesn’t have to be! Just attempt to get started, ignore the setbacks and creativity will always make a comeback.

Sincerely,

Angela S.

Art Blogger/ Emerging Visual Arts

Follow work on fb/twitter/instagram: TheArtofAngela

Leave a comment